It happens to the best
Justin Thomas claimed his eleventh PGA Tour win at the CJ Cup in South Korea. Nicolas Colsaerts claimed his first Tour win in seven years at the French Open and yet they were not the headline acts.
Instead, it was two players on Tour who stole the limelight after collecting some hefty penalty shots.
First up was Marcel Siem who paid a heavy price for lifting, cleaning, and placing his ball five times on the front nine at Le Golf National before being made aware preferred lies were NOT in play. A ten-shot penalty was dished out and he subsequently disqualified himself from the French Open.
Secondly, Lee Ann Walker suffered an even worse fate after she was handed a 58-stroke penalty (yes, 58) over two rounds at the Senior LPGA championship after failing to realise that having your caddie line you up is now outlawed from the game.
What’s the betting both players spent the weekend with their noses in a copy of the rulebook?